Casting Time: 2 actions
Range: Touch, Target
The caster imbues a target with the Burning status. There is a flash of bright orange light when the spell is cast successfully on a target that extends for 20 ft., that can't be hidden even by magical darkness.
If the target is a creature, follow melee combat rules for attacking and defending procedures in this way.
If the target is inanimate, it takes Physical Damage by way of the Burning status unless it is Flame Resistant, in which case the object may visually be on fire but not take damage. In addition, once the object is imbued with the spell, it may be used to attempt a one-time transfer of the Burning status to a single creature target as an attack action (requires an additional action to attack). Follow melee combat rules for attacking and defending procedures in this way. If successful, the spell transfers entirely from the inanimate object and no longer contains the Burning status. If used this way, the spell ends when either the spell is transferred and the Burning status is applied to a target creature (standard rules apply to the creature), or at the end of the next round - whichever occurs first.
The spell fails if the target is Flame Resistant.
GMs should use common sense with the intent and use of this spell. If a player is attempting to use this spell to light a torch, the entire torch would probably not burn up in their hands.